The Necessity of Change

I have never been too fond of change, but it has a way of finding me, pushing me here and there. I like schedules and routines, and my fears of the unknown have clashed with change’s desired outcomes. Some of the changes in my life have been inevitable, part of growing up (still scary). Some changes I did not anticipate, both good and bad. Other changes have been so extreme that I never thought such changes were possible. No matter how many times I have experienced change, I tend to dread the next one.

But this should not be my attitude. What is life without change? Stagnant. What is my relationship with God without change? Immature and unprepared for more responsibility from the Father. As much as I have dragged my feet along the way, I am realizing that change has to happen in order to grow. Growth is change. What if I planted a seed and nothing happened? Something is wrong, right? A seed that does not grow cannot produce a plant. If there is no plant there is no fruit. There is little purpose for a seed that does not grow.

What about us? There are so many books, articles, blogs, etc. about how to grow as a Christian. People provide steps, disciplines, yearly plans. Maybe some of these things are helpful. But no growth will happen if we are unwilling to change, if we stay a seed. If we are willing to change for the sake of Christ then we are already on our way to bearing fruit.

A number of situations can affect a plant, trying to hinder it from growing. Some of these situations may even try to kill it, uprooting it from its source of life. But the plants that withstand all of these trials (and they will come) become stronger and are able to bear more fruit as the years go by.

Is it not the same with us? We will have to face changes in our lives. But instead of seeing the pessimistic side of things (as I usually do), we could ask “How will this make me stronger, Lord? Help me to grow instead of uprooting myself from You.” I know this is not as easy as it sounds. In all honesty, this is not my initial reaction when something new or unexpected comes along. At that point I wish I could crawl back into the ground and become a seed again, but what would my purpose be then?

It’s my choice to wither or grow. It’s my choice to be a raging fire or a dim light about to flicker out. It’s my choice to say “Yes, I can!” instead of “No, I can’t!” It’s my choice to say “Father, I will go wherever you send me,” instead of “Father, I am afraid to go.”

We decide if we want to grow. Change begins with us, and as difficult as it may be, it is necessary.

10 thoughts on “The Necessity of Change

  1. And all the while as you meditated on the complexity of “change” you were in fact changing and in sharing becoming a catalyst for more change (fruit gives more seeds). So you see, the very questions you were asking were being answered even while you were pondering them. His answer always precedes our questions…the growth from the discernment (discipline) in seeking earnestly becomes more and more evident in perseverance and endurance,
    “Seek ye’ first the kingdom of God and His righteousness…”
    I know you know the rest of this by heart.
    a.g.
    Good post.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Just don’t be alarmed if and when your question is met with a question from Him.
        Such as He did with the Pharisees concerning the baptism of John and in addressing the Syrophonecian woman who’s daughter was taken ill.
        The Centurion on the other hand knew the answer…
        Often we’ll ask questions and before the thought is even completed, the answer is made known.
        Like in the breaking of the bread after the resurrection of Our Lord in revealing himself fresh off of the road to Emmaus. In that instant every pertinent question on everyone’s mind was answered!
        🙂 God Bless.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I agree, Lauren. Again, another well written entry. In my seminary studies, one of my professors for Spiritual Formation class told me that change is merely “pain management”, meaning we change when the pain of staying the same is GREATER than the pain of changing. Then there is our tipping point. But we soon realized that small disciplined decisions toward a desired goal or outcome can master the change axiom. Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks again for your encouraging comment 🙂 I’ve had a couple of spiritual formation courses myself. In my opinion, I think paths for growth have become overly complicated. “Do this for a certain number of hours a day.” “Make sure you practice this discipline.” For me, all I heard was another schedule, something that I already struggle with because I’ve placed schedules before God many times. I’m learning that the willingness to change and grow is a big step, but it’s one that all disciples (including Jesus’ disciples) have to make in order to move forward. The Lord does lead us in our lives if we’re willing to see it and listen. I don’t think that’s taught enough. God really does speak to people. He truly wants to see us grow to reach the potential He knows we can reach for His kingdom’s sake. Anyways, this may become another post so I’ll stop here and say thanks for the insight 🙂

      Like

Leave your thoughts, insights, and questions

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.