Truly Blessed

Last year I was praying about finding the right kind of job, and the Lord provided. Not only has He given me the opportunity to earn some money, but He’s put me in a position to be a light if I choose to be. Being in school for six years I was surrounded by a Christian bubble, not really being in the world. Focusing on my studies, the only interaction with the world was when I had to go shopping for food or other items. I have been blessed by being around Christians, but I never expected to feel even more blessed by being in the world. Let me explain.

I’ve been blind to what hopelessness looks like. I’ve been a Christian for the majority of my life, and even though I’ve had struggles, I could always turn to the Lord. I’ve shared in posts how I’ve struggled with pessimism, and I’ve tried to make every effort (with much prayer) to think more positively, to be a light. I’m thankful that I didn’t get a job until I was improving in this area because many people around me are negative. But this is now my opportunity to be the positive one. Being in the world has helped me to realize that there is no reason to be negative because I have hope! I have Christ! It dawned on me the other day as I was writing that I can’t imagine who I’d be if I didn’t have Christ. All the struggles that I’ve worked on as a Christian would not be worked out. I’ve seen how people try to wrestle with issues on their own. There’s much bitterness, anger, negativity…hopelessness.

I get it now why Jesus came to save the spiritually sick. The religious people should have known better (i.e. Pharisees and teachers of the law). We should know better. I know that if I act like some of my co-workers there would be no distinction between me and them. I understand why Jesus loves them, why He died for them. They need hope. They need life. They need real love. This is when the church steps in. We are the body of Christ. We should reflect these things. We should be different, not to make ourselves look better, but to bring hope. There is no place for haughtiness in the body of Christ. The world is a crazy place, no doubt, but people don’t know any better unless we tell them. More importantly, unless we show them.

I am truly blessed to be a follower of Christ! He has saved me from myself so that I can be a light to the world. What a precious gift.

~~~

How Great You Are

 

©Lauren Heiligenthal

One thought on “Truly Blessed

Leave your thoughts, insights, and questions

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.